Wow...apparently I'm not so good at this blogging thing.  I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to wait a whole month between posts, but time has just been flying by so fast these days!  With work, anniversaries, vacations, etc...I just can't seem to find the time to just sit and download my thoughts.  I'll try and make more of an effort...I'd hate for my blog to just waste away...especially after I spent so much time trying to figure out how to merge that sunflower picture with my lemons ;)

I can’t believe it’s been a whole year for Patrick and me.  Well….no, I take that back…it totally feels like a year (don’t take that the wrong way…it’s been a great year!), but when I think back to what I was doing last year…finishing school, starting a job and scrambling to plan a wedding…I can’t believe how far we’ve come.  Now, planning the wedding was fun and all…I enjoyed the excitement of engagement and all the fun, pretty things that came along with that…but all the little details just about killed me!  I would NEVER wanna go through all that again…so much stress!  I’m clearly not cut out to be a planner of any kind and I have a new-found respect for those who are. 

So here we are one year later.  It truly has been a great first year.  I love being married to this guy!  It’s so wonderful to be able to come home to a man who truly loves and cares for me…someone I can truly laugh with and enjoy time with…someone I can be my weird, silly, often unattractive self around.  I’ve loved grocery shopping with my husband, picking out furniture for our home together, eating dinner on the couch while watching nerdy TV shows on our nerdy apple TV.  I love reading next to him before bedtime, chasing our crazy puppy around trying to train her to be a good dog someday, and taking walks around the neighborhood looking for geocaches.  I love being married. <3

For our anniversary we were able to get out of town for 4 days to spend some time enjoying each other’s company in the mountains.  We stayed in Glenwood Springs at the Hampton Inn (highly recommend) where we were treated to freshly baked cookies every day and a personal hot tub in our roomy suite.  We made good use of our time by visiting nearby Vail and Palisade (yay peach fest!), steaming in the Vapor caves, relaxing to our very first couple’s massage/facial, and playing at the mountaintop adventure park.  We made a point to spend some time just relaxing in the hotel as well, though.  I actually think one of my favorite things we did was just staying in the first night we got there.....we ordered pizza and opened a bottle of wine while we played "Settlers of Catan" and watched both “Babe” movies.  It was so nice to just get away for a few days and relax together.

Patrick’s quarter-century birthday was last Thursday as well.  So many celebrations in the same week!  We both had to work but we were able to get off mid-afternoon to spend some time together.  We played with Wicket and opened presents before heading out for a delicious dinner at good ol’ Texas Roadhouse.  Then we enjoyed a riveting film…Cowboys and Aliens!  Haha…okay it wasn’t all that exciting, but we enjoyed it.  Then on Saturday we got a group of friends together to go bowling in honor of Patrick being born.  I love bowling….bowling is one of those non-sports I could do every single day.  It’s cheesy and kind of gross if you don’t own your own equipment but it’s one of those activities you don’t have to be good at to have fun with it.  I hope we start going more often.

Happy Anniversabirthday, Patrick!  I <3 you muchly!

- Megan


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.