Where to begin...

After following several blogs for some time, I have begun thinking to myself that blogging would be an excellent way to download my day-to-day thoughts and connect with others on a deeper level than is ever possible through Facebook, Twitter, or other shallow social media sites.  I've gotten quite tired of trying to use "status updates" as a replacement for actual information exchange.  "Jane Doe had a great evening!", "John Smith is going to bed!"  "Joe Schmoe checked in at Old Chicago"  Boring.  Simply boring.  No offense to anyone, but I'm not really interested in knowing exactly what everyone is doing or feeling at every single moment...that just makes me feel like a stalker.  Back in middle/high school I was an avid "Xanga" blogger...posting nothing truly significant, but enjoying sharing tidbits of my life with friends while staying updated on their lives in return.  I loved that.  I'm thrilled to be getting back into it, if nothing more than to have a written (or rather, typed) record of pieces of my life and thoughts.  I'm not sure exactly how this particular blogging site works, but I'm excited to explore and learn as I go.

So I guess I should introduce myself to those who don't know me already (although I'm not certain I'm going to be interesting enough to attract many strangers....and that's probably a good thing).  My name is Megan.  I am a twenty-something, Christian newlywed living at home with my wonderful husband Patrick and our 8-month-old puppy, Wicket.  I grew up moving around the US as a military brat of an Air Force dad, but he chose (wisely) to retire in beautiful Colorado and we've been here ever since.  I graduated with a degree in Radiologic Technology and work full time as a Radiographer at a small clinic in town.  Reading back over all that, I realize that I am not going to be able to describe myself with one paragraph.  I'll leave the rest to later posts.....

I've been dwelling on figuring out a title for my blog for quite a while.  Perhaps that is the reason I've taken so long to actually begin blogging.  I never realized how extremely difficult it is to find one short phrase to describe the entire content of everything you want to share with your future readers.  There are so many ways to make the title too cheesy or cliche...too boring or uncreative...and my biggest issue, too long and frustrating to pronounce.  I'm a fan of long, interesting adjectives, so my title was starting to look like something straight out of a medical science journal.  I finally decided on "The Lemon Perspective based on the whole "when life gives you lemons" thing.  My life has its usual "lemons"...just like everyone else's...but I want to begin striving to squeeze those lemons into the lemonade God meant them to be.  The more I've grown up, the more pessimistic I've found myself becoming.  I've become exhausted from turning to a bad attitude every time life throws little hurdles in my path.  I want so badly to mature into a person who can look at everything life brings with a positive perspective and always be contemplating what good things can come out of situations and how I can change because of them.  Will that be the main focus of my blog?  Maybe.  I intend to keep it lighthearted...just share my thoughts and experiences as I venture through day-to-day life.  It's nice to think my blog will have a purpose, though. Anyway...was that too deep?  I didn't mean to get so serious on my first post...haha.  I think this blogging thing will be good for me. 

Well I suppose I'll go fiddle around with the website in an attempt to make it more "me".  I hope it isn't too complicated, as I'm not the greatest at trying to create things with a computer.  Wish me luck!

- Megan
Robbie
7/20/2011 09:10:16 am

I love it. Funny yet open plus a strong sense if growth. Can't wait to see what kind if lemonade you and God make! Luv you

Reply
Linda West
7/20/2011 09:28:49 am

Great beginning on your blog Ms. Megan. I have a friend who did a blog of her own when she adopted two girls from Russia, two different times. I learned a lot about Russia and the adoption system and how much it really takes to have a child when you can't. She turned a very trying time in her life to a wonderful life journal, especially for her girls. You are at a perfect time in your life to start something like this. I have the old fashioned journals for the girls I started when I was pregnant the first time. I still write in them although not as much as I should. Time gets limited with two girls. You write well. Good luck with this and have fun with it. I agree with you on the boring comments on FB. Dwight's friend always says, he did not have a clue he went to school with so many philosphers. Thought that was cute. Talk with you soon, Linda

Reply
7/21/2011 02:05:00 pm

This is the very thing I have been wanting to do! I didn't realize we were in the same boat with the desire to squeeze the juice out of life's lemons. Hum...wired statement but lets go with it.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.