I'm not sure I ever realized how much I enjoy just being around my family until I moved out.  Spending my weekend surrounded by the people I love most while working on something that actually mattered was far more fulfilling than my normal weekend sleeping in,  running errands and vegging on the couch.  Yesterday, Patrick, Wicket and I went over to my sister and brother-in-law's new house to help them renovate.  My mom, dad, grandma, and best friend were all there helping too.  For some reason, scooting around the bare floor on old, dusty pillows while prying up thousands of tiny, razor-sharp staples with my mom was so much more fun than anything else I could've been doing with my day.  We didn't have music or air conditioning to distract from the exhaustion, but we did have great company and conversation to make our efforts worthwhile.

I've never considered myself to be anything resembling a "handy-woman", so I'm quite proud I didn't destroy anything yesterday!  Aside from the large splotches of paint all over my arms and legs as well as the scattered splinters and bruises on my palms, everything else remained relatively unscathed.  Oh, I guess there was the one incident while painting the floors purple....and the other thing with the sloshing of toilet water while moving the second potty around in the bedroom...but those were no biggies. Wicket did such a wonderful job supervising our work from her spot under the porch in the backyard while providing while providing the occasional bit of entertainment to break up our long day.  I only wish we had thought to bring her inside kennel for the giant rainstorm we had...instead, I had to watch her sit and shiver under the drippy deck through the whole storm.  Is it sad that I found that to be the most adorable thing ever?  A cold, wet puppy is so stinking cute.  Her little nose turns all blue from the water matting down her fur and the rest of her coat is spiked from the mix of soaking and shaking.  Then she looks at me all pitiful-like like "Pleeeeeeeeeease let me in!  I want to sit inside and stay warm with you!" Hehe cute.  Poor thing.

Wicket must have forgiven us sometime between then and now because she is currently sitting happily under my feet, chewing the face off her brand new hyena toy while Patrick and I plan our grand 1st Anniversary vacation.  We're looking into going to either Glenwood or Steamboat or somewhere like that for several nights, so if any of you have any recommendations of places to stay or things to do, please oh please let us know!

- Megan

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.