Pretty much anyone who knows me knows that I am a die-hard meat lover.  I was always the kid who would make one final run through the buffet line with my sister for "dessert" and while she would come back with a swirly dish of soft serve ice cream piled high with syrups and sprinkles, I would proudly return with one last chicken breast or a hearty chunk of steak.  I've always felt like I missed out on that sex-linked gene that unfailingly seems to force individuals of the female type to crave baskets full of warm, buttery bread, bowls filled with the creamiest of ice desserts, or platters piled high with fresh, juicy fruits and danishes. You'll never find me sitting in front of a chick-flick with a tissue box, a gallon of ice cream and a spoon.  Protein is my medicine.  Instead of going out with the girls for soup and salad at Olive Garden or baked goods at Panera, I'd much rather hit up Bird Dog BBQ for a half pound of succulent, tender beef brisket.  Don't need no sides....I don't want your rolls, your fries, your coleslaw....just gimme that beef.

My best friend Meredith and her family are frequent patrons of a small, German bakery in town.  Recently, Meredith shared with me a great treasure she discovered at said bakery - Schwenkenbraten (and yes, it took me quite a while to find the correct spelling of that word).  Schwenkenbraten (according to the ever-so-reliable Wikipedia) is a pork neck steak marinated for days in a mixture of oils, spices (red paprika, juniper berries, etc...) and vegetables then grilled on a "schwenker" (basically a tripod with a grill grate swinging over a fire".  You slice the meat and eat it on rolls like a sandwich and, Voila!  Best thing ever!  Meredith's dad was kind enough to invite Patrick and I over to partake in this wonderful meaty delicacy for dinner this evening.  We had quite the time sitting and chatting on the back porch enjoying our meal in the cool, evening air while watching Wicket and their two dogs play chase and wrestle in the grass until the sun went down.  Now with plenty of Schwenk and a finely-mixed Tom Collins in my belly, I am fully prepared for a good night's sleep.  My puppy is thoroughly worn out and tucked into a sleepy ball at my feet....my sweet husband is lying beside me, typing away at his own new blog...what more could I want on this fine, Thursday night? :)

- Megan

P.S.  I'll be posting what looks to be a fine recipe for Schwenkbraten (courtesy of AllRecipes.com) on my Recipes page.  Enjoy!

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.